Rebel Princess Deluxe Edition Living FAQ

Welcome to the Rebel Princess Deluxe Edition Living FAQ! This FAQ will be organized alphabetically with Round cards first, followed by Princess cards. If your question does not appear here, please consult the Rules Forum on the Rebel Princess Deluxe Edition BGG page.
Round Cards
c. Magic Beans
-
The round card states for players to play the highest or lowest card, but shouldn't be "play their highest or lowest card"?
You can never play another player's card, so yes, the highest or lowest card you have in your hand.
d. Three Times a Lady
-
What happens if Snow White plays a 3 into the trick? Is the card -3 or it it zero?
Great question. When Snow White activates her ability, the 3 is treated as a zero when it is played during the trick. Later, when scoring, the 3 is treated as a -3.
l. Sisterhood
-
The Sisterhood round card states "if all cards are void" but how can that be if the led card could never be void?
The wording on the card should indeed be "if all other played cards are void" which does mean that it is impossible for the lead player to win the trick during this round.
Wait. What if all players play the same number as the lead card (with 3 or 4 players only)?
The second player to play a card would be zero away from the starting number and would therefore win the trick.
-
What happens when Cinderella activates her ability during a Sisterhood round?
Cinderella's power would only be applied in the case of a tie. The player who played the lower (and not higher) number would win the trick.
p. Haggle with the Hag
-
What if I use the Haggle with the Hag effect to place a prince into the trick I just won? Does doing this mean that princes have snuck in?
No. Princes will not have broken in. Page 6 of rules states: Once a player who is "void" of a suit plays a Prince, the Princes have snuck into the party. Using the Haggle with the Hag effect this way does not necessarily mean the player is void of the led suit. Rapunzel's ability is another way for Princes to be played without allowing Princes sneak into the party.
Epsilon. Sum Enchanted Evening
-
If the sum is 10, for example, and multiple people play a card higher than 10, who takes the trick? Am I not getting something here?
Let's look at a playthrough example.
We're playing a 3p game. We deal out the cards for the round and pass 2 cards to the right. After the exchange, one player does not have any cards that are lower than an 8, so all the cards are shuffled and dealt out again.
We deal out the cards for the round and pass 2 cards to the right. After the exchange, everyone has at least one card lower than the value 8, so we continue with gameplay.
Each player simultaneously discards one card from their hand face down. That card must have a value lower than 8. After everyone has discarded, we reveal all three cards: 3, 5, 6. Their sum is 14. Let's refer to this number as the "limit break". This limit break (sum) is calculated only once and holds its value for the entirety of the hand/round.
Now, we play as normal.
One player leads. Others must follow suit if able. Normally, the player who player the highest card of the lead suit wins the trick. BUT in "Sum Enchanted Evening" this isn't the case.
In the first trick, this happens.
Player A: 8 fairies
Player B: 2 fairies
Player C: 5 fairies
Player A played the highest card in the lead suit, BUT Player C wins the trick because they broke 14.
Player A plays an 8F (so the total is 8).
Player B plays a 2F (so the total is 10).
Player C plays a 5F (so the total is 15, which is higher than 14.)
Let's look at another example:
Player A plays an 9F (so the total is 9).
Player B plays a 3F (so the total is 12).
Player C plays a 2F (so the total is 14, which is not higher than 14.)
Player A wins the trick because the limit (of 14) was not exceeded.
Let's look at another example:
Player A plays an 9Q (so the total is 9).
Player B plays a 3F (so the total is 12 even though the 3 is off suit).
Player C plays a 3Q (so the total is 15, which is higher than 14.)
Player C wins the trick because they played the card which first exceeded 14.
One last example:
Player A plays an 8Q (so the total is 8).
Player B plays a 10Q (so the total is 18).
Player C plays a 10P (so the total is 28).
Player B wins the trick because they played the card which first exceeded 14.
Player C took advantage of this as a way to get rid of their 10 of princes.
Princess Cards
Cinderella vs Snow White
-
How do you specifically handle Cinderella vs Snow White? Whose power takes precedence?
Cinderella must use her power before the trick, while Snow White chooses to use her power right before playing a card, so Cinderella will always activate first.
If both princesses used their power in the same turn, Snow White would win the trick.
Pea Princess
-
What if the Pea Princess used he ability, and then the Little Mermaid immediately used hers forcing me to play a specific suit? Whose power takes precedence?
Little Mermaid's power takes precedence, so you would have to lead with a card from the suit she specified, even if you had a card higher than 5 in another suit. If you didn't have the lead, and the Pea Princess had activated her power, the same result would occur: you would have to play a card from the led suit even if you didn't have any cards in the led suit that were higher than 5.
Mulan
-
When Mulan plays her second card for her ability, can that card be 5 or less if The Pea Princess had also activated her ability for this trick?
No. The trick is not over; therefore, The Pea Princess's ability is still in effect.
-
Can Mulan use her ability to swap the card she played with ANY card on the table?
No. Mulan's ability should read "After the last card has been played in a trick, swap the card you played for another card from your hand of the same suit. The Frog cannot be swapped." Therefore, in order for Mulan to swap cards, she'll need at least two cards of the same suit before a trick; one card that is initially played into the trick and another to swap out for the card played; neither of those two cards can be the Frog.
General
-
Can you have negative points?
Absolutely, yes.